[Official Guide] Roleplaying a Trucker (incl. Map)

Find all sorts of guides created by our community here. Includes guides such as drug use, roleplaying different types of characters, weapons etc.

Moderators: Junior Admins, Senior Lead Admins

Forum rules
The guides you see here have been unofficially created by the players, for the players. LSRP cannot be held responsible for the accuracy of any of the content you see here.
Thorne
Silver Member
Silver Member
Ingame name: Richie_Thorne

[Official Guide] Roleplaying a Trucker (incl. Map)

Post by Thorne » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:55 am

Introduction
Trucking can be boring sometimes and is mostly chosen for its big payout. But I know there are some of you who are willing to learn and improve their roleplay as a trucker; I’ve seen many truckers here in LS-RP, good and bad. I describe some ways to roleplay your trucks and tell you how I personally do it. I am no expert in this, but I am interested in trucking business and I do a lot of research. It turned out to be quite a big guide, but I hope you are willing to read it and I hope it will help you have more fun and improve your roleplay. So without further ado I present you Roleplaying a Serious Trucker, by Richie Thorne.
Worth reading: Peterbilt 387 Operation Manual (PDF)

Glossary

Here are some of the abbreviations and words used in this guide or by LS-RP truckers.

General Terms
18 Wheeler – a tractor and a trailer combined. Why is it called an 18 wheeler? Because it has a total of 18 wheels: two in front, four pairs of two in the back of the tractor and four pairs of two on the trailer.
10 Wheeler - dual-axle tractor without a trailer
4 Wheeler - basic car
Tractor – a vehicle towing the trailer, a truck in other words.
RCTT – Red County Truck Terminal, a place in Blueberry owned by RTA (it looks abandoned, unless you have a mod made by me (shameless self-promotion)).